Long time visitors and residents will joyfully remember the amusement parks with their rides and iconic and often gigantic fiberglass constructions.  Goofy Golf is the only standing attraction from the old days. It was built and remains almost the same as on the day it first opened in 1959.  

Churchwell family's Petticoat Junction amusement park and Lee Koplin's Tombstone Territory were both named after popular TV shows. What would become the Miracle Strip Amusement Park had begun some time after World War ll.  Jimmy Lark came along in 1963 and built the Starliner, a 2,403 foot roller coaster. Other additions came later as he began to enlarge the park. The Miracle Strip Observation Tower was built in 1967. The 200 foot tower was opened in April 1966 and was officially known as Top o'the Strip. By 1995 the tower had fallen into a state of disrepair and the elevator had stopped running.